August 15

 

Got allergies?

 

This time of the year my eyes itch and my nose runs. I sneeze uncontrollably, but I don’t mind. It’s an exciting time of the year when the crop comes in.

It’s a dusty job, but someone has to do it.

The dust from the combines in the Northern Plains keeps a kind of rosy haze in the sky and makes for stellar sunsets of which I’ve done an entire album in previous years and have sold several of the prints of those red sunsets over combines

This year, I captured several of the behemoth machines in the fields doing their job collecting the grains we eat in our breads and pastas.  This Allis Chalmers Gleaner combine was south of Washburn and easily photographed with bright blue skies, puffy white clouds — and dust.  Geez, my nose is running even as I write this.

Leave a Reply

