August 5 part deux

Sunset over the bike at Double Ditch

After photographing the images of the deer along the river, I got down to Bismarck. Just north of town I swung by the ancient Mandan Indian site called Double Ditch where the people in the village had built two protective moats around their village. Thus, “double ditch.”

This bike was parked near the interpretive trail and gave me a chance to try an impromptu shot.  If I were set up for this shot for a paying customer, as I often do, I would have set up soft lights on the bike to make it glow against the darker backdrop.

So, some day, you may see a posed shot that duplicates what I learned from this impromptu shot.

Leave a Reply

