March 26

It took too long, but finally a group of men and women who did the right thing by serving their country, fighting for freedom were finally recognized. Vietnam vets have not gotten the welcome home that they deserved. They didn’t start that crazy Asian war, but they fought it because they were assigned that duty.  They came home to an ugly homecoming.

The State of North Dakota, thanks to the legislature, set aside this date to recognize and honor those men and women who deserved it, Vietnam vets. Many are my friends and neighbors. They are dads, grandfathers, businessmen, farmers.  Many don’t tell you their story until they feel comfortable with you.

I shoot as many Patriot Guard Rider events as I can, as many events that honor veterans, as many military support functions as I can, and this was one I was not going to miss.

Welcome home, brothers.

Leave a comment